Sports Betting: Everything You need to Know about the T20 League Tournament

Sports Betting: Everything You need to Know about the T20 League Tournament

Are you interested in betting on the outcome of one of the professional Twenty20 (T20) cricket leagues played across the globe like The Indian Premier League (IPL) or the Caribbean Premier League? If so, do you know where to start?

Let’s look at the format and structure of a T20 league tournament like the IPL because this information is vital when considering what bets to place. It also affects the math behind many of the wagers that a bookmaker will offer you. 

The Twenty20 league format: A case study

At the outset of this discussion, it is vital to note that every T20 League played across the globe has a similar format. Therefore, let’s consider the IPL as a case study and example of all the other leagues played in different countries. notes that the IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world. And, 2014 statistics showed that it was the sixth most attended sports league in the world. It is also the original T20 league; thus, it is a good idea to study the IPL as an example of how to place successful wagers on a T20 league tournament.

The IPL consists of eight teams who play each other twice, once at each team’s home grounds. Once this phase has been completed, the first four teams at the top of the log qualify for a knockout format known as the Playoffs.

There are two qualifying matches before the finals. The winner of each qualifying match goes through to the finals. The first qualifying match loser gets a second chance to qualify for the finals by playing a second qualifying match. The third- and fourth-placed teams play each other in an elimination match. The winner will play the loser from the first qualifying match in the second qualifying match.

Betting on the IPL

At this juncture, it’s important to note that the starting point of any sports betting journey is the need to sign up with a specialist cricket bookmaker like 10cric to ensure that you have access to the best gaming options as well as the best odds.

Now that we have a clear understanding of the complexities of the T20 League tournament setup, let’s consider the following tips to ensure successful wagering:

Study the teams

It’s vital to know which who is in each team. The IPL holds an auction, and the teams bid on the world’s most valuable players. Not only is it vital to know which individual players have been bought by which teams but understanding how the different player combinations work together is equally important. Bookmakers determine the odds of a specific team winning based on the players a team signs up.

Choose which bets you are going to place

The most straightforward wager that you can place is known as the Win or Moneyline Bet. It’s an all or nothing wager. The odds are equal on all teams, and you select which team you think will win. If you pick the right team, your winnings will be transferred into your gaming account. If your team loses, you do not get any money back.

Match betting is the most common wager that is placed on a T20 tournament. It is similar to the Win wager where you choose which team you think will win the tournament and if it wins you win. Other cricket-specific bets include wagering on whether the match will end in a draw or not, which player will be the top bowler or top batsman, and you can predict how many runs a specific team will score during their innings.

by Bobby

Causing waves and making moves, there's no one in the gambling game that compares. From high stakes tables to lucrative online wins. Bobby is the best of the best and has carved a successful career in professional gambling.

You might also like